Welcome to the pattern world! (and a relaxing bike ride to the memorial)

I’ve been away from my blog for almost a week and I feel guilty about it…but I have several very good excuses!

Last week I had two outdoor art shows. I love these shows but man, they really are a lot, a lot of work. My tent weights about 200 pounds when it is all set up. It’s made of a combination of steel poles and fittings that I actually looove putting together (not sure why?? reminds me of a grown up LEGO maybe? or maybe just the sense of accomplishment I feel when I’m done putting up that beautiful “art fortress” all by my little self -the tent is 200 pounds…I’m 115-). My whole set up -putting up the tent, hanging the artwork- takes me about 2.5 hours and then taking it down, about 1.5 hours. These two shows I had last week were only 5 and 6 hours long each, which means that I spent more than half the duration of the show putting up and taking down my whole display. Add to this the loading and unloading the car, it makes for a good day of work and sweat for sure!

Another thing that kept me really busy last week and is still keeping me really busy, is a class I’m taking on Skill Share , is called: “Reign Repeats: Create Perfect Repeat Patterns in Illustrator”. I love it.  Since last week I’ve spent countless hours in front of the computer trying to learn the basics of Illustrator (I used illustrator here and there before, but the few things I could do on it I had figured out by myself and I was still terrified of or had not idea how to use more than half the tools). Well, the close to 40 hours I’ve put into it so far have certainly paid off and yesterday I was able to make my first “test” repeat. I was so excited about it. I’ve always loved patterns but I never “connected” the beautiful designs I saw in fabrics or stationary with how they were created, I guess I must have though that these patterns were just created by “spontaneous generation” or something, ha, and never made the connection with the designs and the artists behind them. So, here I am, learning how put my drawings and ideas into the computer and make cute little surfaces that could go on so many products! love it!

These are two of my favorite final motifs, I hand sketched them first and then scanned them into the computer and started the “magic” with illustrator. The theme is “Picnics” and if it all goes well and I finalize my “official” repeat by Sunday, I will be entering Spoon Flower’s weekly challenge with that theme, along with my classmates.

Bottle Changuchichou

And here is my first experimental repeat using one of the repeat methods (one of so many that I haven’t learned yet, but will be learning today!)

Square Method 1

 

I was just wowed when I made this. This is just a test but the fact that it repeated correctly and to see this, resulting from a bunch of little hand sketches just got me so excited!

I spent about ten hours (maybe a little more), doing this yesterday, I was determined to end the day with my first repeat, and I did! but after ten hours in front of the computer, I needed to get out of the house. I ended the day with my favorite bike ride around here, I rode my bike from our house to the Wright’s Memorial, about 2.5 miles from here, right at the end of the day. It was the perfect way to end it.

Here’s a painting I made inspired by that bike ride, it is actually called: “Bike Ride to the Memorial”

Bike Ride to the Memorial. Acrylic on canvas, 20 x 16 inches, 2012

Bike Ride to the Memorial. Acrylic on canvas, 20 x 16 inches, 2012

So, there. Those are my excuses for very little writing last week ;). Hope you are all having a great start of the week!

 

Leave a Reply

