City inspiration

Before I moved to the U.S and to the beach in the Outer Banks, NC, I had lived in San José, Costa Rica, my whole life. About 6 years ago I was taking pictures at night in downtown San José for a project I had in mind and the work that came out of that experiment, started my current line work.

Here’s some examples of that early work:

Carolina_Coto_4_50x60cm_45mil

Avenida. Acrylic on photograph. 2008

DSC_0047

City of Balloons. Acrylic and china maker on photograph, 2010

DSC_0099

Plaza en Magentas. Acrylic, color pencil and china maker on photograph, 2010

I was painting over the photographs I had taken and had this desire of covering everything I didn’t like, sometimes people, sometimes an overflowing trash can and then of highlighting the things that I liked and adding new symbolic repetitive “elements” to the scene, dots, circles, etc. The results were city images that even though based in real places, were coming out of my imagination: “Imagining Cities” was the name of the first show with those pieces. The work continued to evolve and then eventually the “cities” were no longer coming out of photographs but just from my head, and then the inspiration was not only San José, but any city or place that I felt inspired by, even if they were not real.

Creta. Acrylic on canvas, 2011

Creta. Acrylic on canvas, 2011

In Between. Acrylic and marker on canvas, 2011

In Between. Acrylic and marker on canvas, 2011

San Gimignano. Acrylic and marker on canvas, 2011

San Gimignano. Acrylic and marker on canvas, 2011

Golden City. Acrylic and marker on canvas, 2011

Golden City. Acrylic and marker on canvas, 2011

Fes. Acrylic and marker on panel, 11 x 14 inches, 2013

Fes. Acrylic and marker on panel, 11 x 14 inches, 2013

As my work has continued to evolve, I guess my inspiration is not only the city, the beach, or a place or places, but the possibility of creating a world of  “my own”, my own colorful reality in a little piece of fabric or paper. What’s your inspiration? I’d love to read your comments. Hope you’re having a great Tuesday!

 

Leave a Reply

